12 laugh-out-loud books about being back at school

12 laugh-out-loud books about being back at school

In Reading Lists by G.G. Andrew

12 laugh-out-loud books about being back at school

Forget school supplies and masks for a minute and escape into the unexpected and often hilarious side of learning. These fun-filled books show the humor of elite day schools, high schools, universities, and more. With characters of all ages alongside classmates, crushes, cutthroat competition, and no shortage of hijinks, there’s something for everyone here, whether you’re a student or just miss the smell of freshly sharpened pencils.

Adequate Yearly Progress by Roxanna Elden

Described by The Washington Post as “The Office but set in an urban high school,” this hilarious novel about a group of teachers at Brae Hill Valley School in Texas keeps you laughing. Teaching is hard enough, but when you throw in co-worker crushes, unrealistic expectations, parenting woes, Texas football, and a new superintendent, things get wild.

Start Listening

We’re back in Texas in this funny young adult novel from author Philippe. In it, Norris, a Black French Canadian teen, experiences the cultural shock of transferring to a Texas high school. He deals by labeling all the stereotypical kids he meets — the jocks, the loner, the Manic Pixie Dream Girl. But Norris’ real education comes when he starts to see his classmates for the three-dimensional people they are.

Start Listening

Teach Me by Olivia Dade

An uptight high school teacher gets a lesson in love in Teach Me, the first in Olivia Dade’s There’s Something about Marysburg series. This romantic novel follows Rose as she’s shocked to learn her new co-worker Martin has taken over teaching her favorite history class. But, eventually, she warms up to the sweet single dad, and their after-school hours get a lot more interesting.

Start Listening

Small Admissions by Amy Poeppel

After a bad breakup, Kate turns over a new leaf by joining the admissions staff at the Hudson Day School. But little did Kate expect admissions season at the elite academy to be so complicated. Between competitive parents, odd kids, bribery, and even threats, will Kate survive to see another year? Get ready to devour this novel — or, if you’ve got your hands busy prepping lunches for the week, put on the audiobook.

Start Listening

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Analytical genetics professor Don Tillman wants to find a wife. Rosie definitely does not meet his carefully chosen criteria. But as Don helps Rosie locate her biological father, the two realize they’re perfect for each other. If you haven’t yet read this romantic comedy gem, you’ll laugh watching these two opposites throw out all the data and charts as they fall in love.

Start Listening

By the Book by Amanda Sellet

If you miss English class, this young adult novel fills that void and has you laughing and sighing over your copy of Pride and Prejudice. In it, Mary enters public school armed with only her vast knowledge of 19th-century literature. Her ability to tell a rogue from a hero lands her a few admiring friends — until she falls for the decidedly roguish Alex. Is swooning still acceptable in the 21st century? Read it and find out.

Start Listening

If We Were Us by K.L. Walther

What is high school without complicated relationship drama? There’s nothing boring about boarding school in this young adult novel about teens Sage and Charlie, two best friends everyone expects to become more. But when new student Luke enters the picture, Charlie falls hard. Meanwhile, Sage is developing feelings for Charlie’s twin brother, Nick. If funny, tender YA novels are your jam, check out the book School Library Journal hailed as perfect for readers of Becky Albertalli.

Start Listening

Class Mom by Laurie Gelman

Jen is not your typical kindergarten mom. Between her tell-it-like-it-is attitude and a checkered past involving musicians, she has a tendency to make the other parents uncomfortable, to say the least. But she’s the perfect heroine to root for as you watch her deal with modern-day kindergarten in this laugh-out-loud book People magazine called a “hilarious send-up of parental politics.”

Start Listening

Crazy for You by Jennifer Crusie

Nobody writes witty romantic comedies like Jennifer Crusie, and you’re guaranteed to snort-laugh your way through this audiobook about high school art teacher Quinn. After years of living a fairly boring life as a good girl, Quinn throws caution to the wind and starts making big changes, including adopting a dog, ditching her football coach boyfriend, and jumping into a romance with her best friend (and former brother-in-law), Nick.

Start Listening

Acceptance by Susan Coll

While on a college tour, fellow high school juniors Harry, Maya, and Taylor converge at the campus of Yates, a liberal arts school that has just gotten bumped up in the rankings — but only by accident. With its overambitious kids, pressuring parents, and one very harried admissions officer, Acceptance is the perfect recipe for school-based satire. In fact, it was made into a 2009 film starring Joan Cusack.

Start Listening

Upsy Daisy by Chelsie Edwards

If you like your funny books with a side of sweetness, put listening to this audiobook on your planner! In it, Daisy and Trevor fall in love at a historically Black university in the 1970s. The problem? They’ve both got some growing up to do, including figuring out who they are in relation to their families — and each other. The result is a charming coming-of-age love story that leaves a smile on your face.

Start Listening

Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld

If you haven’t yet experienced this Curtis Sittenfeld classic, there’s no better time than the fall to put on the audiobook. Set at an exclusive boarding school, the novel follows Lee, a scholarship student in a sea of wealthy classmates. Along with the usual friends and crushes high school brings, Lee encounters a few unique situations that take surprising and often amusing turns — and you’ll keep turning pages to see how Lee handles the cards she’s dealt.

Start Listening

For more reading recommendations on back-to-school picks, check out the Scribd Staff Back-to-School Favorites list from our Scribd editors.

Image

About the Author: G.G. Andrew

G.G. is a freelance writer as well as an author of romance and women's fiction. A Texas transplant, she lives outside Houston with her husband and two sons, both of whom are on the autism spectrum. In her spare time, she enjoys browsing bookstores, yoga, paper crafts, themed food, swimming, and anything related to Halloween. She's probably drinking tea right now.
Not yet a Scribd member?
Start Your Free Trial

Best new books on scribd